BMW i5 and 5-Series Forum

04-18-2023, 07:32 PM   #1
Mgrae456
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: BMW m850

ceramic coating swirls

This is my first time posting in the car care forum any advice would be appreciated. I have a 4 month old 2023 m850 convertible with 4000 miles in San Remo Green. When I picked it up I took it to a local detail shop for a paint correction and ceramic coating. They used the Gyeon brand of coating. Since then the car has only been hand washed using best practices. Today in direct sunlight I'm starting to notice the dreaded swirl like fine lines. I was told by the shop as long as I stuck with hand washing this wouldn't be an issue.
The issue is what do I do now. Is the shop to blame? Is there a fix that doesn't involve a full paint correction and new coating? I read about a product that might help called carpro essence plus is anyone familiar?
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2023, 09:03 PM   #2
spazzz
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2008 535xi MHD&XHP,2013 X1 35i

Essence plus is a filler. After awhile you will be back to where you started. The place I use Essence Plus is my painted wheels which are black.

I fixed a spot where someone rubbed my black car with their finger exclaiming it was so shiny. It sort of worked but shortly after the spot was back.

Ten to 1, no one notices those microscopic swirls the way you do. They should hand out chill pills at detail shops for when swirls happen.
Either way that is serious money to lay down for those miracle ceramics and be disappointed.

Plan B would be to stop back at the shop and ask them about your concerns. .....but Essence Plus, nah.
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2023, 09:09 PM   #3
Mgrae456
Private First Class
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by spazzz View Post
Essence plus is a filler. After awhile you will be back to where you started. The place I use Essence Plus is my painted wheels which are black.