BMW i5 and 5-Series Forum

04-22-2023, 08:24 AM   #1
ElCapitanMX
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: M240

Wash and Ceramic Coating advice

Hello everyone,

Newbie here in the wash and paint protection game, so hopefully I don't get roasted too much.

I have never cared too much for detail washing nor care enough for paint to not take the car to a regular car wash tunnel (I know swirls)

But with this car, after a fresh touchless car wash I can't stop looking on how gorgeous the paint looks and I'm seriously considering Ceramic Coating.

Now, as I said before I have always overlooked the appearance of the car and I have a couple of questions:

- Are the microfiber towels really safe to dry the car? as absorbent as they can be they don't feel soft enough for me and make me think they can produce swirls (maybe I'm overthinking this)

- I really don't see hand washing the car in my current situation due to not enough space plus winter months will make it really hard. What are the safe bets? I have been taking it to a self service touchless carwash and so far it seems ok, thinking on purchasing a pressure washer down the line to do it myself. any cons with this approach?

- Mosquitos and bugs are starting to appear in the windshield and grill area, what's the best to facilitate wash them off without using anything abrasive? will ceramic coating help here?

- I found a ceramic coating place with the following prices and menu, what are your thoughts on it? I really have no idea what am I looking at here.

Thanks for the help!
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      04-22-2023, 07:29 PM   #2
335i54n
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: e90 335i, e39 m5

imo that kinda on cost is better off spent on ppf unless that a NO, something like Crystal Serum Light works and is pretty diy

quality count when buying towels